Skip to content

“USICD is not only my mentor, but a good friend of mine”: Farewell Statement of Sherzodbek Sharipov

February 1, 2012
Sher in black and white
Sherzodbek Sharipov

It has been almost one and a half years since I joined USICD as an international fellow through the Atlas Corps Fellowship Program. Today, with honor and full of experience, I am moving forward with my new plans and hopes.

USICD has become not only my mentor, but also my friend. During the fellowship, the USICD Board of Directors, Executive Director David Morrissey and the USICD staff have provided me with moments of joy, tons of experience and skills development. Serving for USICD was my pleasure and honor. Let me briefly explain why:

1- Professional Development: USICD provided me with various resources to develop my professional training skills during the service. Networking with disability communities and disabled people organizations in the US and abroad, academic and professional presentations at academic institutions in the US, advocacy and trainings in the field. From strategic planning to grant management, from advocacy to education and trainings, from resource management to monitoring and evaluations, USICD has provided me with all these opportunities. I have gotten experience in various areas of disability rights and development as well as had an opportunity to share my knowledge and skills with the entire USICD team and its members.

2- Daily life: From the 1st day of my service, USICD staff and team have been always kind and supportive, with in-office jokes, fun and joy that I will always remember. USICD became a life-long friend and my guide.

3- USICD and the future: USICD’s team has always been supportive in guiding me towards development both professionally and personally. Daily advice and guidance of the team and the Executive Director, David Morrissey provided me with a life-long ticket for the future.

4- Now we are friends and partners forever! I wish USICD all the best with its extraordinary projects and goals towards promoting and protecting the rights of persons with disabilities. I will always be honored to collaborate with USICD in the future and stay in touch with its all members.

I am not saying “good-bye” today; simply saying “talk to you soon”! I wish USICD’s team all the best in its future plans and work, to stay healthy and active, progressive and successful!

Thanks USICD once again for all their opportunity and guidance, kindness and generosity! Additionally, this professional fellowship program and service with USICD would not have been possible without Atlas Service Corps (www.atlascorps.org) – an international network of nonprofit leaders and organizations that promotes innovation, cooperation, and solutions to address the world’s 21st century challenges.

Sincerely Yours,

Sherzodbek Sharipov

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 4:55 pm

    Inspiring, Sher! Thank you for sharing and for being a great part of the Fellowship….dare I say AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

