Skip to content

Finding My Career Path

June 29, 2016

By Hannah Chadwick Dias

Young woman with long black hair

Hannah Chadwick-Dias

 

 

People keep telling me that internships are a great way to start finding out my interests, where I want to work, what I want to do, what types of jobs to look for, and how to go about it. Their advice did not truly sink in until I completed my undergraduate studies.

Like many recent graduates, I was not sure what I wanted to do after college. I was certain that I did not want to pursue a graduate degree right away, and I knew I wanted to work in the field of human rights.  I thought about developing sustainable programs in the areas of human trafficking, disability rights, education for children, advocacy work for

marginalized communities, as well as food security and water sanitation.  These ideas helped me secure a spot in the 2016 USICD summer internship program, and they placed me at World Learning for a two month internship.

As the second week of my internship at World Learning is coming to a close, I’ve been thinking about how I could incorporate all of my ideas and interests to come up with a career that would be rewarding to me. I’ve met with the various teams at World Learning, learned about what each team does, and collected information to see where my skills would be best utilized.  My conclusion is that, based on my skills, experiences, background and interests, the best place for me to start my career would be in the international academic exchange field.  This area of work would allow me to educate young adults on inclusion, help provide tools for scholars to develop new programs or projects in marginalized communities, and I would be able to make a difference in many people’s lives both on a national as well as on an international level.

Prior to this internship, I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do or where I wanted to work. The only thing I was sure of were my interests.  However, I did not know how to combine them into something more solid; and because of this, I did not have any ideas on how I could start seeking jobs or even where to start.  However, the last few weeks has given me numerous opportunities to grow and expand my ideas.  None of this would have been possible without the support of USICD and World Learning.

Hannah Chadwick-Dias is one of the participants in the 2016 USICD Youth in International Development and Foreign Affairs internship program.  She and other USICD program interns are writing a series of blog posts about their experiences with USICD’s internship program, to be posted at this blog.  USICD coordinates the internship program, which brings a cohort of students and recent graduates with disabilities to Washington, DC, each summer to complete internships at various international organizations in the Washington, DC, area.  Hannah Chadwick-Dias is completing her internship at World Learning.  Learn more about USICD’s internship program at http://usicd.org/template/page.cfm?id=257.  Read the biographies of our interns in the summer 2016 program.  The views and opinions expressed at this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the position of USICD or World Learning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

