Skip to content

First Time for Everything

August 1, 2017

By Anna Custis

Young women smiles at camera

Ann Custis

Being in USICD’s Youth in Foreign Affairs and International Development internship program gave me an opportunity to stay in the George Washington University Potomac House dorm, where I was assigned to be roommates with fellow cohort, Janelle Lyons!

      Keep in mind, that until June 2017, I had never had a roommate, not even in college.  I remember recalling all of my friends’ roommate horror stories, from possession of illegal substances, stealing food and more (one of my closest friends was punched).  From bathroom scheduling to lights out, I was worried I’d be stepping on some toes. Turns out, there was no need to worry at all! Janelle and I get along really well.  She’s like the cool older friend with lots of wisdom and advice to give you, and I’ve certainly learned a lot from her.

    Back when I was still in Orlando, my closest friends constantly told me to explore Washington D.C., make new friends and have some new experiences.  They told me to avoid being lonely. I honestly thought I would just stay in the dorm all the time, doing nothing on the weekends except for playing computer games. Well, sometimes I still do that.  Anyways, the more important thing to note here is that I actually made a friend! Our time together was short, but trying out new restaurants and visiting our favorite little yogurt shop was some of the best times I’ve had so far in Washington D.C.  I miss my friends in Orlando a lot, but Janelle helped lessen the pain of missing them.

            Pretty soon, our two month internships will be over and everyone will be going back to school or to new jobs. Janelle will be going back to Boston, and I’m still unsure on whether I will be remaining in Washington D.C. or moving to Chicago.  What I do know, however, is that I will miss the 2017 USICD cohort, and that I wish nothing but the best for all them from here on out.

Ann Custis is a member of the 2017 cohort of the USICD Youth in International Development and Foreign Affairs internship program.  She and other USICD program interns are writing a series of blog posts about their experiences with USICD’s internship program and other topics, to be posted at this blog during the summer.  USICD coordinates the internship program, which brings a cohort of students and recent graduates with disabilities to Washington, DC, each summer to complete internships at various international organizations in the Washington, DC, area.  The internship program was enabled by funding support from  the Mitsubishi Electric America Foundation(MEAF). Ann Custis is completing her internship at Handicap International USA (HI USA)  . Read the biographies of our interns in the summer 2017 program.  Or read blog posts by other current and past interns. The views and opinions expressed at this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the position of USICD, MEAF, or HI USA.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

